March 1st, 2024

Hat boxers stand their own at annual Nieman/Page Memorial

By MEDICINE HAT NEWS on January 25, 2024.

SUBMITTED PHOTO Seven members of the Medicine Hat Boxing Club pose after the 19th annual Nieman/Page Memorial and Alberta Silver Gloves Saturday and Sunday at the Medicine Hat Lodge. The Medicine Hat fighters pictured are Kade Steiger,Marco Ibba,Gavin Russell, front row: Jacob Walne,Asher Softic,Tavin Booker,Nate Vossler

Medicine Hat’s Boxing Club hosted the 19th annual Nieman/Page Memorial over the weekend.

The memorial boxing tournament and Alberta Silver Gloves, named in honour of Ev Nieman and Bill Page, two Hatters who played big roles in the Medicine Hat boxing community and its development, was hosted at the Medicine Hat Lodge on Saturday and Sunday.

Medicine Hat’s Kade Steiger defeated Freddy Dool from Nelson, B.C., and also won Best Jr. A of the tournament.

Marco Ibba in his very first fight, lost to Armann Ghakal from Humble Boxing Airdrie. Gavin Russell lost to Drydon Platt from Regina on Saturday and lost a close one to Cooper O’Connell from Lacombe on Sunday.

Jacob Walne defeated Ryder Breedy from Sandhills Leader Sask. Asher Softic beat an experienced Porter Hansen from Nelson, B.C. and also won Best Jr. C of the tournament.

Tavin Booker lost to a tough Jacob Zaytsoff from Nelson in a crowd-pleaser of a fight.

Nate Vossler defeated Kaiden Atkinson from Marshall Club Edmonton.

Share this story:
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments