February 21st, 2020

Colts claim league volleyball crown

By Medicine Hat News on November 8, 2019.

McCoy Colts players including Reese Bourassa (7) react to winning the South East Zone Volleyball League varsity girls title game over Crescent Heights Thursday, Nov. 7, 2019 at McCoy.

The roller coaster of emotions was palpable but it ended on a high note for the host Monsignor McCoy Colts.

Up after a great first set, down as the Crescent Heights Vikings dominated the second. Back up on an early third-set lead, back down as the Vikings refused to quit.

Finally, Makayla Clarke’s kill gave the Colts a 2-1 (25-17, 12-25, 15-11) win and the South East Zone Volleyball League varsity girls banner Thursday.

“It means so much, we’re all so excited and with the majority (seven) being Grade 12’s, it makes us so happy,” said co-captain Brooklyn Schafer, in between one of the dozens of photos that were being taken in the aftermath of the big win. “It was definitely tough but working through it is something we’re good at. We know how to work and persevere and keep trying and not give up.”

Unbeaten without dropping a set in the regular season, but quite aware of how tight the competition is at the top, McCoy earned itself a higher seed at next week’s 3A South Zone tournament in Lethbridge, where they will likely see the Vikings again – though both sides hope it’s in the final where they’d each already have a provincial spot locked up.

“The girls have been pretty consistent throughout the year, they just needed to dig a little deeper,” said McCoy coach Trina Lanigan. “They did it.

“The push is for provincials, hopefully the girls come out and want to play again.”

The Colts had a first-round bye and swept Brooks in the semifinals. The Vikings beat Senator Gershaw, then Eagle Butte to get to the final.

Crescent Heights’ Kennedy Galloway was named league MVP, also on the first all-star team with teammate Julia Forsyth, McCoy’s Schafer and Kennedy Lanigan, Eagle Butte’s Montana Wright and Hat High’s Janelle Stegen.

The second all-star team included Shane Fowlie and Hailey Adams from the champion Colts, Zaira Miller-Shackleton from Crescent Heights, Tori Lunseth from Eagle Butte, Taya Karsten from Hat High, Brooks’ Mackenzie Beblow and Foremost’s Lina Britschgi.

Share this story:

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.