January 19th, 2020

Edwards wins Adams trophy for second time

By Medicine Hat News on August 13, 2019.

NEWS PHOTO RYAN MCCRACKEN - Baby grand driver Megan Preston races around the track for a qualifying lap at the Medicine Hat Speedway Sunday.

Bad weather kept the stock cars from a special second day of racing at the Medicine Hat Speedway, but the most important event of the weekend did get a winner.

Cochrane’s Dale Edwards claimed first place in the baby grands division to win the Darryl Adams Memorial trophy, normally a two-day event with the top point earner among all divisions claiming it.

Edwards’ No. 10 car beat out Faith Luther and Rick Jondreau in the baby grands. He also won the memorial in 2017.

Adams won the mini stock series in 2007, then died a week later after a long battle with colon cancer.

In the other divisions Saturday, Jake Sissons took first in the hobby stock group ahead of Rob Gale Jr. And series leader James Dumont. Trevor Stratton was the elite street stock champion ahead of Mitch Stovka and Thomas Payne. Kevin Hieb piloted his No. 37 car to the rumblebees win and series lead, beating Ben Boksteyn and Emma Fitzpatrick. Rylan Malone was the Evolution Cupcars winner with Ethan Skolarchuk second and Noah Banman third. And Curtis Bigelow won the renegade trucks division, maintaining his series lead ahead of Jason Woicichowski and Tony Lavigne.

Share this story:

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.