June 16th, 2024

Youngster Wilkie wins Darryl Adams Memorial

By Ryan McCracken on August 13, 2018.

Bashaws Kaylee Wilkie stands with her Evolution Cup car after winning the Darryl Adams Memorial trophy with the best two-day points total across all classes at the Medicine Hat Speedway Sunday.


Fourteen-year-old Kaylee Wilkie was in the mix with some of the Medicine Hat Speedway’s top drivers this weekend, and she came out on top with the coveted Darryl Adams Memorial trophy for most points across all four classes in action.

The young Evolution Cup car driver kept the pace in eight races over the Speedway’s annual two-day affair and never slipped below second — taking three checkered flags en route to a feature victory Saturday before following it up with a second-place finish in Sunday’s main event to beat baby grands driver Doug Voisey by a single point.

“Being in the youngest group, it’s pretty amazing that I won such a big event,” said Wilkie, who gets to take the Darryl Adams Memorial trophy home for the year. “I have a trophy case but I don’t think it’s big enough.’

Wilkie has been behind the wheel for the past five seasons after taking in a race day as a spectator with her family in Edmonton.

“We went to Edmonton International Raceway track in Wetaskawin for my parents’ anniversary. These cars were out there racing and I fell in love with them immediately,” she said. “We went back the next day to go check them out in the pits.”

Emma Fitzpatrick beat Wilkie to the finish line in Sunday’s feature Evolution Cup car race, while Owen Harbour settled for third. Harbour took second Saturday, followed by Fitzpatrick in third.

In similar fashion to Wilkie, Voisey won Saturday’s baby grands main event before settling for second behind Sara-Jo Paquette Sunday. Faith Luther took third Sunday, while Rick Jondreau earned a second-place finish Saturday, followed by Joe Paquette.

Jareme Koska won both elite street stock main events, followed by Al Patterson and Mitch Stovka Saturday, and Will Voth and Conor Hirch Sunday.

Jake Sissons took first in Saturday’s hobby stock main event, followed by Alysha Stratton and Shane Goldie. On Sunday it was Trevor Stratton who earned the hobby stock checkered flag, followed by Rob Gale and Goldie.

Drivers return to the Speedway Aug. 25, for legends, elite street stock, renegade truck, hobby stock and super truck racing.

Share this story:

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments