June 14th, 2024

Hat team wins oldtimers baseball title in Charlottetown

By Sean Rooney on August 7, 2018.

Medicine Hat News

They’ve hosted the tournament three times but only one Medicine Hat team had ever won at the Canadian National Oldtimers Baseball Federation championships.

And now there’s a second.

The Medicine Hat Oilmen beat the Regina Drifters 13-0 Monday in Charlottetown, P.E.I. to claim the 43-over division Tier 2 crown. The Medicine Hat Cardinals won the 35-and-over Tier 2 event back in 2006.

It was a case of getting hot at the right time for the Hat squad, which only went 1-2 in the round robin to be relegated to the Tier 2 playoffs.

They opened with a 13-2 loss to Tusket, then beat Kindersley 13-4 before falling 6-1 to Scarborough.

In Monday’s playoffs, they got by the Battle River A’s 7-3 before shutting out Regina.

Medicine Hat most recently hosted the tournament two years ago and regularly sends multiple teams.

The roster included Andy Stroh, Devin Klein, Kirk Miner, Garth Stark, Ryan Herman, Schaun Rose, Wayne Kobley, Rob Norman, Mike Stark, Lyle Kennedy, Larry Kennedy, Troy Fauth, Marty Robinson, Curtis Scherger and Mike Stroh.

Share this story:

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments