January 19th, 2021

Colts hand out awards

By Medicine Hat News on June 11, 2019.

Monsignor McCoy celebrated its athletes Monday night at the Medicine Hat Lodge, culminating in a special honour for two of them.

Kassidy Rae and Caleb Kinch were named winners of the Brad Jackle Award, for both their excellence in sports but also in the classroom and as leaders.

Rae was named MVP of the Colts’ girls volleyball team, and also played on the basketball team that got to provincials.

Kinch helped the Colts’ golf team win its first-ever provincial golf team title at the Alberta Schools Athletic Association level back in September, when the school year had barely started.

Monsignor McCoy athletic awards as presented at the Medicine Hat Lodge Monday:


Rookie – Toras Brooks

Dan Boksteyn Memorial (unsung hero) – Chayce Davies

Outstanding back – Haedyn Davies

Outstanding lineman – Daniel Gervais

Spiritus award – Clayton Renke (Eagle Butte)

MVPLR – Triston Duchscherer (Eagle Butte)

MVP – Koby Laychuck-May

Cross country

MVP – Jillian and Stephanie Laing


MVP – Caleb Kinch

Junior boys volleyball

MIP – Holden Lehr and Owen Burzminski

MVPLR – Logan Sonley

MVP – Justin Barcelonia

Senior boys volleyball

Rookie – Justin Barcelonia

Jamie Quinn Memorial Award (most improved) – Ty Brooks and Ethan Gripp

MVPLR – Mitchell Beckedorf

MVP – Torin Cherniak

Junior girls volleyball

MIP – Paige Gerl

MVPLR – Brookelyn Kuhn

MVP – Kyana Kolody

Senior girls volleyball

Rookie – Reese Bourassa

MVPLR – Kennedy Lanigan

MVP – Kassidy Rae

Junior boys basketball

Best defensive player – Holden Lehr

MIP – Logan Sonley

MVPLR – Kameron Roberts

MVP – Seth Fandrick

Senior boys basketball

Best defensive player – Chayce Davies

Rookie – Daniel Kuon

MVPLR – Ethan Smith and Ethan Gripp

MVP – Ayden Miller

Junior girls basketball

Best defensive player – Megan Morrison

MI – Poni Nyarsuk

MVPLR – Emily Klein and Reese Bourassa

MVP – Claire Holt

Senior girls basketball

Best defensive player – Delainey Zdan

Rookie – Jaden Brown and Halle Gjerlaug

MVPLR – Stephanie Laing and Mackenzie Park

MVP – Jillian Laing and Taytem Rath


Rookie – Jacob Dorton

Most improved – Justin Barcelonia

Most dedicated – Kaden Meier


MVP – Rachel Werre and Makayla Clarke


Rookie – Evan Morrison

Hardest worker – Wyatt Study

MVPLR – Jayden Ball

MVP – Reese Whelen

Track and field

Outstanding athlete – Kiana Farrell and Koby Laychuk-May

Brad Jackle Award

Male – Caleb Kinch

Female – Kassidy Rae

Share this story:
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments