July 18th, 2018

Candidate lists made official

By Collin Gallant on September 20, 2017.

Medicine Hat News

It’s official, a list of confirmed nominated candidates for next month’s municipal and school board elections was released Tuesday by the local chief returning officer.

Four mayoral and 19 councillor candidates submitted paperwork on Monday, but legislation states they have 24 hours to reconsider while election officials vet information on the forms.

In Medicine Hat, the list will stand as presented on Monday.

For mayor, incumbent Ted Clugston will face Tom Fougere, John Hamill and Scott Raible.

Council candidates (in order of filing) are Jamie McIntosh, Robert Dumanowski, Maureen Roberts, Brian Varga, Charles Turner, Jim Turner, Leslie Rath, Phil Turnbull, Kris Samraj, Michael Klassen, Myles Mulholland, Ryan Regnier, Hugh English, Darren Hirsch, Bill Cocks, Julie Friesen, Les Pearson, Colette Smithers and Immanuel Mortitz.

General voting takes place on Monday, Oct. 16. Special ballots are available by contacting the chief returning officer via the City of Medicine Hat city clerk’s office.

Share this story:

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.