July 18th, 2018

Four running for mayor’s seat, one candidate says that’s not enough

By Medicine Hat News on September 18, 2017.

NEWS PHOTO COLLIN GALLANT Nomination papers were accepted until noon on Sept. 18 for the Oct. 16 municipal election.

Medicine Hatters will have four names to choose from on the ballot for mayor next month, including that of a web blogger who describes himself as someone who shakes up the status quo.

Tom Fougere joined incumbent Ted Clugston, former alderman John Hamill and local broadcaster and teacher Scott Raible in filing nomination papers on Monday’s deadline.

Fougere, who will appear on the ballot as Thomas “Tall Bike Tommy” Fougere, operates a website known as Community TV where he posts video commentary on a variety of topics. He rose to prominence in 2015 for his confrontational coverage of alleged improper workplace behaviour at the Monarch Theatre in late 2015.

On Monday, Fougere said he is running to give residents more options and felt the educational aspects of his campaign would be valuable.

“It’s easy to run for these positions and more people should do it,” said Fougere, adding that he is running both to promote engagement in civic politics, he is running to win.

The candidacy is not about self-promotion, he responded after a question from the News.

His aim at the mayor’s race would be more effective than at council in his first bid at seat in local a local government.

“If you’re going to do something go all in. Four (candidates), including myself, are not enough. There is a huge diversity of people in Medicine Hat, feeling a lot of different things.”

Last week Clugston told the News he expects a spirited and cordial race and that “people want to see issues come forward.” Of the final candidate to enter the race Clugston said, “It’s democracy and there are very little barriers to running for municipal politics. It’s his right.”

Hamill, who has said his combination of previous council experience and a few years away from the council table has given him a fresh perspective, didn’t know much about the new candidate.

“I honestly have no idea who he is,” said Hamill. “I guess he’s got a tall bike.”

Raible, who was unavailable for comment early on Monday afternoon, said last week he is pleased that Hatters will “get a real choice at the ballot box” and pointed to a disconnect between the current council and the economic realities faced by Hatters.

On the councillor side, seven of the eight current councillors are running for re-election. William (Bill) Cocks, Robert Dumanowski, Julie Friesen, Jamie McIntosh, Les Pearson, Jim Turner and Brian Varga are running for re-election. Hugh English, Darren Hirsch, Michael Klassen, Immanuel Moritz, Myles Mulholland, Leslie Rath, Ryan Regnier, Maureen (Mo) Roberts, Kris Samraj, Colette Smithers, Phil Turnbull and Charles (Chuck) Turner are listed.

Redcliff Council

New and old names will be on the ballot for Redcliff Town Council.

Running for mayor is incumbent Ernie Reimer, while current councillor Dwight Kilpatrick will be challenging him for office.

Four incumbent councillors have filed to run again. This includes Catherine Crozier, Larry Leipert, Eric Solberg and Jim J. Steinke.

Three non-incumbents have filed to run, including Shawna Cockle, Chris Czember, and John Gaetan.

Not running again is councillor Chere Brown.

Cypress County

There will be races in four Cypress County wards in the fall municipal election. This includes a three-way contest in Ward 1 (Hilda/Schuler), with incumbent Arthur Squire being challenged by Michelle McKenzie and Shirley Roy.

Ward 4 (Longfellow) will have a two-way race between incumbent Garry Lentz and Robin Kurpjuweit. Ward 7 (Seven Persons North/Desert Blume) has Garry Procter challenging incumbent Richard Oster. Ward 8 (Redcliff Area) has incumbent LeRay Pahl running against Shane Hok.

The remaining wards have been acclaimed by incumbents.

Darcy Geigle has been acclaimed for Ward 2 (Irvine/Walsh), Ernest Mudie acclaimed for Ward 3 (Elkwater), Dan Hamilton acclaimed for Ward 5 (Dunmore/Veinerville), Dustin Vossler acclaimed for Ward 6 (Black & White/Seven Persons), and Alf Belyea acclaimed for Ward 9 (Jenner/Suffied).

School boards

Nine people are running for five spots as trustees for SD76.

Incumbents Deborah Forbes, Carolyn Freeman, Rick Massini, Terry Riley and Catherine Wilson-Fraser are being challenged by Greg Bender, Aaron Myradon, Celina Symmonds and Jeremy Williamson.

Regina Durst, Peter Grad, Richard (Dick) Mastel and Robert Risling are running for re-election to the Medicine Hat Catholic School Board of Trustees. Alicia Doud, Kathy Glasgo, David Leahy, Jeffrey Neumann and Bonnie Stafford-Meyer are also on the ballot.

In the Prairie Rose School Division election, all but one of the wards has been acclaimed. In Ward 4 — which covers the area of Redcliff, Ralston, Jenner and surrounding area — has two trustee positions available, and three people vying for them. Incumbent Arnold Frank will be running against newcomers Pam Cursons and Meredith Conboy.

Ward 1 (Oyen, New Brigden, Acadia Valley, Bindloss, Cereal and area) has two seats on the board, and these will be represented by acclaimed candidates Lois Bedwell and Lucille Hertz. Ward 2 (Dunmore, Irvine, Schuler and area) will be represented by incumbent Cathy Hogg. Ward 3 (Seven Persons and area) will be represented by Graeme Dennis, an incumbent. Ward 5 (Bow Island, Burdett and area) will be represented by incubment Stuart Angle.

A new face on the board will be Stacy Hammel, for Ward 6 (Manyberries and area).

Share this story:

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.